Financial Mad Lib: Fill in the blanks!

Heya! Just wanted to get out of my writing rut so I’m trying out this quick exercise I saw from my idol, J. Money, over at BudgetsAreSexy.

It’s like filling an autograph book which was a very big hit when I was probably 9 years old. I remember I didn’t have money to buy those pretty, colorful, templated ones BUT I did have an empty notebook made of brown paper that I believe was from Giordano. It was one of the many random stuff I got from Dad. And so I labeled it “Sign Book” and wrote on the first page that people can write whatever they want in there such as personal details or just random thoughts. And it was A. BIG. HIT.

I realized people liked being asked to talk about themselves. Better yet if they can share things that may not probably be those that people would normally ask. It got them into thinking what they really want to say.

Anyway, so enough about that. Today, I will fill out this Financial Mad Lib from J. Money and encourage you to do the same. Let’s treat it as getting to know each other, yeah?

Here’s the blank template:

Hi, my name is ______ . I currently have ______ dollars in my wallet. When I started managing my finances I was worth _______, and now have a net worth of _______. I currently work ________ and have been doing it for ______ years. I make roughly ______ per year. I want to have ______waiting for me when it comes time to retire. Aside from learning about finances, I really enjoy ______. I think the world would be a better place if _____ didn’t exist. I had ______ for dinner last night and it was ______. I have had ______ significant others over the course of my lifetime (counting awkward middle school relationships). One thing that makes me different is ______. Now that I’m done with this mad lib, I think I’m going to ______.

And here’s one with my answers!

Hi, my name is Maven! I currently have 170 dollars pesos in my wallet. When I started managing my finances I was worth zero (for reals!), and now have a net worth of Php1,051,074.75. I currently work as a Financial Planning Analyst for multinational companies and have been doing it for 6 years. I make roughly Php800,000.00-1,000,000.00 per year. I want to have Php100,000,000.00 waiting for me when it comes time to retire. Aside from learning about finances, I really enjoy bonding with our dogs. I think the world would be a better place if irresponsible people (harsh!) didn’t exist. I had lemonade and nuts for dinner last night and it was okay since I was not hungry anyway. I have had 2-4? (Haha! I dunno how to count them! XD) significant others over the course of my lifetime (counting awkward middle school no-label relationships). One thing that makes me different is that I don’t eat marshmallows. Now that I’m done with this mad lib, I think I’m going to get back to work.

Your turn! 😀 Post it in your blog (and tag me!) or just comment down below. I’m excited to hear from you!

Cheerios,

Maven

P. S. I forgot what’s the correct term for the autograph book I’m mentioning. It’s definitely not an autograph book but I think we were too young then to know. 😄 Hit me up when you figure out what I am referring to!

Leave a Reply

